top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy

My Homeschooling Philosophy - Books and Articles You May Find Helpful in Creating Your Own

Updated: Apr 26, 2019


I love having the details and elaborate descriptions on how people homeschool and plan, but I enjoy having the "in a nutshell," kind of summary, as well. It helps me keep things in perspective. Here is my homeschooling philosophy in a nutshell (just in case you like that kind of thing, too):

1) Peace, laughter, love and connection are really the end-game (even in homeschooling)

2) Keep things as simple as possible

3) Cultivate a love of learning - this is really my only job

4) Breathe - don't forget to do it literally and figuratively in our daily rhythm (schedule)

5) Make rest a priority; if we need an hour or day off to re-center, take it

6) Make myself a priority - how can my children respect me if they do not see me respecting myself and meeting my own needs

7) Spend as much time in nature as possible

8) Always check in with my intuition on everything, whether it be a homeschool group, music teacher, curriculum or anything else; if something feels off, figure out why or just follow my intuition even if I can't put my finger on the why






My philosophy is ever-changing based on my continued learning and experience. On the journey to shaping my current philosophy, I have found certain articles, blogs and books that have been especially helpful. I want to keep an ongoing list of these resources in hope that they may be helpful to others as well. This will probably become my most edited blog post. I know I will add to the list as I remember sources and find new ones.





I am dividing the articles and books into categories for ease of reading.


Early Childhood Development and Rhythm





Planning an Overview of Our Homeschool Year


Planning Details of Specific Blocks for Waldorf Homeschooling


The Parenting Passageway Blog - articles are separated by grade; there is always something of help, no matter what grade or block I am planning


General Parenting





94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page